Remove this ad

Lead

Jun 7 16 6:19 PM

Tags : :

Hi everyone, I hope you are all doing well.  

I took my dog to a rattlesnake clinic yesterday, something I have never done before.  I have had one dog bit seriously on a foot and I really don’t want to see this happen to our little brown lab.  Her nose is constantly down when out and about, sniffing every inch of the way.  So, it was interesting that during the clinic one station was geared to the scent the snake gives off.  I was told this snake was old and barely rattled anymore since most of the rattles were gone.  He was covered in shed skin to release enough scent to give the dog a good introduction to it. 

Before heading out, the attendants put two shock collars on my dog, one for each of the two stations.  I really hesitated about doing this, since shock seems rather inhumane, but since seeing the effects of a bite, I went for it.  She was a fast learner.  The first station was a rattler on a mat on the ground, watched carefully by an attendant.  To sum up the clinic, I was told to position myself on one side of this snake while calling the dog, who was on the other side.  She hesitated, you could really tell she had to think how to get by this snake safely, and yet she successfully maneuvered around the danger in a matter of seconds. 

The thing is, I didn’t even notice where the snake was and I began walking right toward the mat until an attendant called me back.  I had my eyes on my dog, thinking I had to get to her.  My son was also bit by a rattlesnake last fall, twice during one encounter while mowing his field, and not paying attention. 

Jesus gave us so many warnings, and the apostles as well; and we still fell for Satan’s trap.  It took a sort of “shock treatment” to wake us up and get out.  Right before Jesus was crucified, he said to those near him,